No-Cost Drop Spindle

September 8, 2007 at 9:54 pm 2 comments

spindle1.jpgWool obsession. Felting everything in sight, knitting in the movie theater, driving 80 miles to buy wool sweaters at thrift shops. Sometime last week I started fantasizing about raising sheep, goats, rabbits, llamas, plunging my hands into piles of their fleece/fur. Buying farm animals, feeding them, cleaning them, is a long way off from knit, purl, knit, purl. I told myself I needed to learn every step of making yarn before I could buy animals to support my habit.

Step 1: Learn to card and spin wool.

I decided to begin my wool-education at 1:00am this morning. Reading step by step directions online gave me spinning theory, but I had a strong need to put my learning into action. Ebay, I found, has many inexpensive supplies: drop spindles, roving. The problem at 1:00am is that I couldn’t get my hands on a spindle–even if I bought it that moment. Inspired by an article on how to make your own drop spindle (and by my obsession with wool), I ransacked my house for items that could substitute. Here’s what I found: a pencil, cardboard, and a screw-hook.

spindletop.jpgI jammed a pencil through a round-cut piece of cardboard, secured in place with two rubber-bands. I then tried to twist the screw-hook into the wooden bottom of the unsharpened pencil, which didn’t work, so I screwed the hook into the eraser instead. The directions on The Joy of Handspinning were the most helpful once I was ready to put my drop-spindle to work. They include short video clips demonstrating the written directions. This allowed me see what I needed to do to get spinning with my recycled contraption.

Since it was 1:00am when I began my project, I wasn’t able to get roving. So I opted to practice spinning two very thin yarns together. This was a wonderful way to get used to the feel of the drop spindle without having to struggle with roving.

Here’s what my very first spun-yarn looked like after I boiled and dried it into place:spunyarn2.jpg

Entry filed under: Crafts, handmade, Knitting, recycled, Spinning, yarn. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Red Recycled Sweater Blanket A Dictionary of Stitches

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hookedupknits  |  September 9, 2007 at 1:20 am

    I’m obsessed enough that I’m going to have to go dig out materials to try this. Fun idea!

    Reply
  • 2. Elizabeth  |  June 18, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    I LOVE your blog – just started learning how to knit and am looking for a beginner top down sweater pattern…found your blog! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! keep writing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

This site is a series of creative non-fiction works inspired by no-pattern knitting and equally unplanned, crafty endeavors. Called "Yarn" for the past ten years by her closest friends, Danielle is a two ply yarn: storyteller and knitter with her Master's degree in English Composition and Rhetoric.

Recent Posts

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 17,975 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

